Defence & Aerospace ISC

Andy Keough

Andy Keough

Managing Director, SAAB Australia

Andy served for 22 years in the Australian Navy which included command of two Collins Class submarines and a three-year exchange posting with the US Navy’s Submarine Force in Pearl Harbor, Hawaii. He was awarded the Conspicuous Service Cross (CSC) for his leadership in command of HMAS SHEEAN in 2006. 

Andy retired from the Navy in 2007 and joined ASC where he was responsible for establishing the business improvement capability and managing ASC’s operations in WA, which included maintenance and training for the Collins Class fleet.

After a two-year stint as Chief Executive of Defence SA, Andy commenced as the Managing Director of Saab Australia in November 2017.

John Godwin

John Godwin

Deputy Chair
Business Development & Commercial Director, BMT

Mr John Godwin is the Business Development & Commercial Director at BMT. 

John has over 25 years’ Defence and industry experience. He holds a Bachelor of Engineering from UNSW and is a graduate of the Australian Defence Force Academy.

John began his career as a Weapons Electrical Engineering Officer with the Royal Australian Navy, including postings at sea and ashore in engineering, maintenance, tests and trials, naval ship repair, and deployments on operations and exercises overseas.

He worked in Australia and overseas in security and risk management consulting before moving to South Australia to work within the naval shipbuilding enterprise at Osborne, going on to manage the Nova Systems Naval and Maritime business in Australia and New Zealand, and then as General Manager Defence Support for Nova Systems, prior to taking up his current role as the Business Development and Commercial Director for BMT Defence and Security Australia in 2019.

John is a board member of the South Australian Veterans Advisory Council (Veterans SA) and The Road Home Board of Governors for the Hospital Research Foundation.


  • Nick Dudley - Naval Shipbuilding College
  • Emily Young - DIS / Defence SA
  • Darin Lovett - South Australian Space Industry Centre
  • Laura Mabikafola - SAGE - Skills Lab
  • Sean Goggin - Babcock Australia
  • Georgette Elston - BAE Systems Australia
  • Vivien Massie - Defence Teaming Centre
  • Harry Riddle - Naval Shipbuilding College